Press "Enter" to skip to content

Which territory was the British colony until 1997?

Which territory was the British colony until 1997?

Hong Kong
By this time, the term “Crown colony” referred specifically to colonies lacking substantial autonomy, which were administered by an executive governor, appointed by the British Government — such as Hong Kong, before its transfer in 1997 to the People’s Republic of China.

What territories are still under British rule?

Current territories

  • Anguilla.
  • Bermuda.
  • British Antarctic Territory.
  • British Indian Ocean Territory.
  • British Virgin Islands.
  • Cayman Islands.
  • Falkland Islands.
  • Gibraltar.

What was the last part of the British Empire given back in 1997?

The Cold War added further complexities, as Britain attempted to insulate former colonies from the influence of the Soviet Union. In 1997 Hong Kong returned to Chinese administration. Though Britain still maintains overseas territories, the handover marked the final end of Britain’s empire.

What was a crown colony of the UK until 1997?

List of Crown colonies

Name of colony from to
Gibraltar 1713 1981
Gold Coast 1821 1957
Hong Kong 1842 1997
Jamaica 1655 1962

When was Britain at its most powerful?

At its height it was the largest empire in history and, for over a century, was the foremost global power. By 1913 the British Empire held sway over 412 million people, 23 per cent of the world population at the time, and by 1920 it covered 35,500,000 km2 (13,700,000 sq mi), 24 percent of the Earth’s total land area.

Is Hong Kong a crown dependency?

Although Hong Kong Island and Kowloon were ceded in perpetuity, the leased New Territories comprised the vast majority of the total area….British Hong Kong.

Hong Kong 香港
Map of Hong Kong (before 30 June 1997)
Status 1843–1941; 1945–1981: Crown colony 1981–1997: British Dependent Territory
Capital Victoria (de facto)

When did the British take control of Hong Kong?

But between 1842 and 1898, the British Empire gradually seized control of the three main regions that make up modern-day Hong Kong: Hong Kong Island, the Kowloon Peninsula and the New Territories. All of these regions were still under Chinese control when the empire went to war with the British Empire in 1839.

What are the 14 territories of the British Empire?

The fourteen British Overseas Territories are: Anguilla Bermuda British Antarctic Territory British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands Falkland Islands Gibraltar Montserrat Pitcairn Islands Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Helena Ascension Island Tristan da Cunha

When did Great Britain become part of the United Kingdom?

Similarly, when Great Britain was united with the Kingdom of Ireland in 1801 to form the United Kingdom, control over its colonial possessions passed to the latter state. Collectively, these territories are referred to as the British Empire.

When did the territorial evolution of the British Empire begin?

Territorial evolution of the British Empire. The territorial evolution of the British Empire is considered to have begun with the foundation of the English colonial empire in the late 16th century. Since then, many territories around the world have been under the control of the United Kingdom or its predecessor states.