Press "Enter" to skip to content

Which part of Malaysia is known as Peninsular Malaysia?

Which part of Malaysia is known as Peninsular Malaysia?

Peninsular Malaysia (Malay: Semenanjung Malaysia), also known as West Malaysia or the Malaysian Peninsula, formerly known as Malaya, is the part of Malaysia which occupies the southern half of the Malay Peninsula in Mainland Southeast Asia and the nearby islands.

Is Malay and Malaysia the same?

The country is multi-ethnic and multi-cultural, which has a significant effect on its politics. About half the population is ethnically Malay, with minorities of Chinese, Indians, and indigenous peoples. The country’s official language is Malaysian, a standard form of the Malay language.

What is East Malaysia called?

East Malaysia (Malaysia Timur), also known as Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan (Sabah, Sarawak dan Labuan) or Malaysian Borneo, is the part of Malaysia on and near the island of Borneo, the world’s third largest island.

Where is the peninsular region of Malaysia located?

Written By: Peninsular Malaysia, Malaysian Semenanjung Malaysia, also called West Malaysia or Malaysian Malaysia Barat, region of the 13-state federation of Malaysia. It occupies the southern half of the Malay Peninsula and is separated from East Malaysia (on the island of Borneo) by the South China Sea.

How big is Peninsular Malaysia compared to England?

Peninsular Malaysia, also known as Malaya or West Malaysia, is the part of Malaysia which lies on the Malay Peninsula and surrounding islands. Its area is 132,265 square kilometres (51,068 sq mi), which is nearly 40% of the total area of the country – or slightly larger than England (130,395 km²).

What are the two main parts of Malaysia?

Malaysia consists of two parts: East and West or Peninsular.

What’s the difference between East and West Malaysia?

The West Malaysia, especially the West and Southern States in the Peninsular, are slightly more developed than Sabah and Sarawak in East Malaysia island of Borneo. When i say West Peninsular Malaysia, i’m referring to Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Klang Vally in Selangor State and the Federal… Loading…