Press "Enter" to skip to content

Which is the number of States in India?

Which is the number of States in India?

With effect from 26th January 2020, the total number of states in the country changed to 28 and eight union territories. The state Jammu and Kashmir are converted into two union territories Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

How many states and UTs are there in India?

Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals At Present India has 8 Union Territories and 28 States. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020.

How many cities and towns are there in India?

As of 2021, there is a total of 718 districts in India. How many cities are there in India? There are 4000 cities and towns in India Which state has the highest number of districts in India?

Which is the most unique state in India?

Each state of India is culturally unique and is a treasure trove of various art forms, languages, food and traditions. Here we present a list of the 28 states in India and their capital cities while imploring you to read and discover more about each one. 1. Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad)

Which is the National Capital Territory of India?

India consists of 28 states and 8 union territories, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi. In August 2019, the Indian Parliament passed a resolution to divide the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories, Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh, which came into action on 31 October 2019.

Which is the third largest state in India by land area?

Uttar Pradesh 243,290 sq km Uttar Pradesh (often shortened to UP) is the third largest state in India by land area. With nearly 200 million people, it is also the country’s most populous state, as well as the most populated subdivision in any country in the world. Its capital is Lucknow.

When did the princely states become part of India?

Between 1947 and 1950 the territories of the princely states were politically integrated into the Indian Union.

Which is the 8 union territories of India?

Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Puducherry and Ladakh are the 8 union territories of India. What is the capital of India? New Delhi is the capital of India.

What makes India different from other countries in the world?

What makes India unique is definitely its ‘unity in diversity. It accommodates a diverse number of languages, religions and cultures. India is a union of 28 states and 8 union territories in the country. Each state and union territory has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital.