Press "Enter" to skip to content

How many years can you get for drug use?

How many years can you get for drug use?

The maximum sentences for possession of each class of drug are: up to seven years in prison or an unlimited fine (or both) for a Class A drug. up to five years in prison or an unlimited fine (or both) for a Class B drug. up to two years in prison or an unlimited fine (or both) for a Class C drug.

Is possession a felony in Tennessee?

The crime of possession with intent is a serious charge. All charges of possession with intent are considered felonies, and the punishment can range from 1 year in jail to 30+ years in state prison.

What is the punishment for simple possession in Tennessee?

A first-time charge of simple possession or casual exchange of a controlled substance under Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-17-418 is a Class A misdemeanor. This offense can be punished with up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and fines of up to $2,500.

What is simple possession in TN?

Simple Possession is the lowest drug charge in Tennessee, and is used in cases where a defendant is found with illegal drugs in their possession, but no evidence that they might be dealing, delivering, or manufacturing.

Is possession of drug paraphernalia a felony in Tennessee?

Possession of marijuana paraphernalia is a very common criminal charge in Tennessee. Additionally, anyone accused of delivering marijuana paraphernalia to a minor is a Class E Felony carrying a punishment from 1-3 years in jail and a $3,000 max fine. …

What is considered a simple possession?

Simple possession of a controlled substance generally involves a small amount of drugs, that were intended for personal use, rather than for sale to another person. Possession can be proven through actual possession, such as having the drug in your pocket, or by constructive possession.

What is considered drug paraphernalia in Tennessee?

Tennessee defines drug paraphernalia as any equipment or material that is used to grow, make, or use a controlled substance. Even if an object as it exists for its original purpose is legal, if an individual uses it to make or use drugs, it can be considered drug paraphernalia and result in a criminal charge.

Can I fail a drug test with a prescription?

The ADA specifically states that “tests for illegal drug use are not medical examinations and are not evidence of discrimination against recovering drug abusers when used to ensure the individual has not resumed the illegal drug use.” If an employee uses a prescription drug not prescribed to him or her, the ADA …

What are the penalties for methamphetamine in Tennessee?

methamphetamine, is a Class B felony in Tennessee which carries a minimum of eight years and a maximum of 30 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $100,000. Schedule II drugs – the sale of a Schedule II CDS is a class C felony, punishable by three to 15 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $100,000.

What’s the penalty for selling controlled substances in Tennessee?

Specified CDS– making or selling specified amounts of certain controlled substances is a Class A felony in Tennessee, carrying a prison sentence of 15 to 60 years and/or a fine of up to $500,000. In lessor amounts the sale or manufacture constitutes a Class B felony.

How many drug crimes are there in Tennessee?

With 80% of crimes in Tennessee having some drug-related nexus, combating illegal drug use and abuse is critical. But drug use in Tennessee has many different looks.

What are the effects of heroin overdose in Tennessee?

The effects of overdose can range from breathing problems to death. Now, not only those using and abusing drugs are facing risks from drug use; Law enforcement personnel are also potential victims. TBI crime labs have received several samples of heroin laced with fentanyl and pure fentanyl packaged as heroin.